top of page

Snoop Dogg on carrying the torch in Paris, his Olympics run-in with Simone Biles' mom, and more

Currently busy being the main character of the 2024 Paris Olympics, other than all the incredible athletes of course, Snoop Dogg called in to catch up with Audacy Atlanta’s The Big Tigger Morning Show. As one of NBC's Special Correspondents at this years games, Snoop talked all about the experience thus far, his so-called "beef" with Simone Biles’ mom, and more.



LISTEN NOW: V-103's The Big Tigger Morning Show: Snoop Dogg





After some smooth talking following his intro, Snoop filled the morning show crew in on how it felt carrying the Olympics gold torch, which his obviously had to match his gold Snoop Dogg Sketchers.


“I felt like Muhammad Ali… because what I was taught was anytime you were able to be in a position like that you should be representing peace and love. When they handed me the torch, the lady explained to me that anybody who’s ever touched the torch is a peace messenger for the world. So I felt real honored to be recognized like that coming from America, from Long Beach and so many big people they could’ve had to do it. To mention me and say, ‘We want you to do it,’ that made me feel good.”


Photo credit Stephane De Sakutin - Pool/Getty Images


These days, it seems Snoop has his hand in just about everything, and that’s because he does. When asked how he goes about remaining relevant, Snoop said, “I try to stay true to who I am. Anything and everything that I do… has to be fun to do and has to make funds — F U N D S.”'



This year, Snoop has expanded his commentator roll, having previously teamed up with Kevin Hart for the now viral Olympic Highlights review. Talking about his past commentating experiences, Snoop shared, “I’ve been doing it with basketball, boxing…just having fun doing what I do. And I see that they’re actually recognizing that I’m skilled at what I do and that they’re giving me an opportunity to show that skill and to bring something different to the table. I appreciate NBC and the whole Olympic team for giving the opportunity to shine.”


As for those silly none serious rumors Snoop and Simone Biles’ mom have some “beef,” Snoop suggested to drop it like it’s hot, quipping “no, no, no, no, no.”

“What had happened was,” Snoop began to explain, “I go to meet her and didn’t know I had met her already. She reminds me, she said, ‘In 2010 we were in New York and asked you for a picture, and you said ‘y’all have two seconds,’ you took the picture and then you left.’ But she showed me the picture, with her, young Simone and all of em’ and it was just beautiful I actually stopped to take a picture with them and for her to show me that’s who she became… it was just a beautiful situation to say I was never too big to run past, even if it was two seconds as long as I did it, that’s all that matters.”



Also talking a bit about his experience in Paris thus far, Snoop said, “When I first got here, it was nice and warm, and all of a sudden the night of the ceremony it just started raining… raining hard. Then it got beautiful again, but the rain was beautiful as well, because I’m from California so I like the rain. But overall the people, the hospitality, the security, the way it’s safe. The way countries are mingling with people, it’s just, this is what the world is supposed to look like, all these different countries, races, ethnicities, and everybody getting along.”

To close out the conversation, Tigger mentioned to Snoop that some are saying the torch reminded them of something else he would normally have in his hand. Clearly not oblivious, but deciding to act as such, Snoop perfectly responded, “Hmmm… What would that be?”

Listen to the entire conversation above.





Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page