top of page

Nick Cannon on Lupus, and managing it in his everyday life: 'You can keep all those flare ups away'

During a recent chat with Audacy Atlanta V-103’s Danie B, Nick Cannon opened up about his struggles with Lupus, detailing his experience with the illness and how he manages to live with it in his everyday life.


LISTEN NOW: Danie B Interview With Nick Cannon



Cannon was helping out the Social Butterflies Foundation at V-103’s Summer School Volume 1 day party, with the aim of raising $3000 for the organization that helps Lupus warriors with anything from getting fitted for wigs, to getting access to medication and more.


Being such a vocal public figure when it comes to Lupus, Danie B expressed her delight to be chatting with Nick, noting “it really means a lot that you took the time to stop and educate us a little bit today.”


“It sounds like it's a beautiful event that's going down this weekend, so I commend it and salute everybody that's involved with it,” Nick expressed. Before going on to elaborate on the disease, and his personal struggles with it.


“Lupus is an autoimmune condition that I was diagnosed with in 2012. It could attack any part of your body, it’s where your immune system is a little out of whack. Mine specifically, it goes for my kidneys and sometimes my skin. But I know other people, it can go to their heart.”


Nick went on to reveal, “it actually affected my heart when I first got it in 2012 and I had like pulmonary embolisms that got real serious. So it's one of those things that you can definitely live with, but it also can be something that can be quite serious.”

Cannon continued to elaborate, pointing out that while some “people don’t notice” a person struggling with Lupus, it can be “difficult to get out of bed,” due to suffering from “inflammation and… fatigue.”



“So, you just gotta look out for those Lupus warriors and really give them some strong prayers and support because you never know what they're going through.”

Staying booked and busy, Nick proves his point, that Lupus is a disease one can live with. From his various business endeavors, to Wild N Out and hosting The Masked Singer, Cannon talked about how staying busy helps.



"That’s how I fight my lupus… I just stay busy. I mean, once I can get out that bed, I see it as a blessing. I'm gonna get the most out of today because I remember those days where it wasn't even a possibility for me to get out. And sometimes those days happen, you know, every once in a while, but it keeps my health in check.”




Another “thing about lupus,” Nick added, “is that you gotta make sure you're eating right. You gotta make sure you're staying hydrated. You gotta make sure you're doing everything that the doctors or the holistic individuals that are helping you out are telling you, because if you stick to a regiment, you can keep all those flare ups away.”



For Nick, it’s important to continuously shine a light on Lupus, so Lupus warriors out there feel like they're not alone, as helps others understand about what this disease is.

Speaking to the importance of being vocal, Nick said, “It definitely affects our community specifically... a lot of cases with Black women. So we want to continue to create the awareness so we can find a cure. And just send some love and support to all my fellow lupus warriors out there.”


To hear it all, listen to the entire conversation above.


0 views

Comments


bottom of page