top of page

Dr. Dre is 'serious' about archery and competing in the Los Angeles Olympics

After performing with Snoop Dogg during the LA28 Olympic Games Handover Celebration, closing out the Paris Olympics, Dr. Dre revealed he’s “deadass serious” about competing in the 2028 games, taking place in Los Angeles, California.



Listen to Hip-Hop Made: West Coast and more on the free Audacy app



During an interview with Entertainment Tonight, Dre revealed his thoughts about representing Team USA and “trying to try out for the Olympics in 2028.”


As for his sport of choice… that would be Archery.


"I actually started playing around with archery in junior high. I stopped for a while, and my son bought me a setup. I have it set up in my backyard and I heard qualifying for the Olympics is 77 feet,” Dre expressed, adding, “I practice at 90. Wouldn't that be interesting?”



Interesting indeed, actually kismet, for the West Coast legend who grew up in Compton. While his legacy is cemented as part of West Coast Hip-Hop history, it seems Dre wants to add athletic accolades to his collection. And doing so in LA, would make it that much sweeter.


In other Dr. Dre, Olympics related news, during the same interview, the rapper/producer/mogul voiced his thoughts about this year’s breakdancing competition.



With 2024 being the first year that breakdancing was featured in the Olympics, most of the dazzling athleticism of b-boys and b-girls from around the world were on full display. However, the sport was overshadowed by the bizarre display from Australia’s Rachael “Raygun” Gunn.

“I did not like that. It’s so many great breakdancers that I don’t know why they had this particular person doing that,” Dre said, joining the general consensus that has flooded the internet.



He continued, “It was funny, I got some laughs out of it, but what the f***?… There are incredible breakdancers out right now; I don’t know how that happened.”

Check out Dre’s entire chat with ET below.





Comentários


bottom of page